Past Stories: Tales from a Car Dealer

This story comes from a few summers ago, just before I went to university. I know the guy who used to run a local dealership in my hometown, and he was having some computer trouble, so I was recommended to him to have a look. While I was sat waiting for the various anti-virus tools I was running to work their magic, he mentioned an old system he had lying around that he didn’t want. I went upstairs to take a look, and offered him £20.

Upon getting home I had a closer look. The tower was a fairly standard socket 939 Acer Aspire, but had been upgraded with an ATI X1950, which was promptly taken out and I may even still have somewhere. It also had been upgraded with 2 1GB sticks of Geil DDR RAM, which were promptly placed on eBay and replaced with some generic 512MB sticks. Replaced the missing drive blank on the front of the case with one I had spare, reinstalled XP, sold for I believe £30 (although this was a while ago so I have sort of forgotten!). The monitor was a 19″ Viewsonic with VGA and DVI, and there was also a keyboard and mouse. These were paired with a dual 867MHz PowerMac G4 that is in a story that’s still in my drafts I will write about soon.

A few months later, and after I’d replaced a failed hard drive in his garage’s main PC, I was offered a laptop he had lying around for free. Looked a bit tatty but was a decentish Sony Vaio. Upon further inspection, I discovered it was a Vaio VGN-AR61S, so 2.1GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM, 2 200GB hard drives in RAID, and a Blu-Ray drive… and Nvidia graphics. I’ve always been a bit nervous of Nvidia graphics in laptops ever since my old Acer 9300 died due to them. Took out one of the HDDs to take it down to 200GB (I was out of HDDs at the time!) and it was taken to a car boot and sold for £60 without spending any more on it (I charged and tested it with a universal charger).

As for the dealer? He disappeared. The garage still exists and operates, and have been known to fix my French heap of crap on a semi-regular basis.

Leave a Reply

